Do. It. Yourself… Face masks

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,

And wait. I know what you are all are thinking: ‘where have they gone?’ ‘Why haven’t they posted in a while?’ Or even if you weren’t thinking that then I will still continue to tell you. I just had some personal situations going on, and that was affecting my writing and I didn’t want the negative energy to be reflected on the blog. So here we are.

Secondly I know its FRIYAAAAY. I didn’t post yesterday, because I had a nightmare in the kitchen. Many of you don’t know, like Ilinca 😎 that I like to bake and cook. So last night I thought I’d bake choc chip muffins, and what happens?! I drop a tray that has muffin batter in all over my self and the kitchen. By last night I mean 10pm.

Anyhow here we are!! Let’s brush that brush that behind and focus on this weeks post. How many of you watch adverts online, on television, or walk past a store and see a ‘AMAZING NEW FACE MASK’. And then you contemplate on whether or not you should buy the product? I’ve done that, but knowing how sensitive my skin is I only tend to use one or two brands, and that is Body Shop or L’Oreal.

But what if I told you, that you could make a face masks at home with the ingredients you probably have around the house. I’ll let you in on my secret 3 top DIY facemasks. Sorry that was a bit of a mouthful.

I’m going to say sorry in advance! Whenever I do make these masks at home, I never measure them. I just chuck things into a bowl and put the mask on. Sorry not sorry.

 

Mask Numero One – Fuller’s Earth clay mask with sandalwood (turmeric is optional)

So this first mask is my all time favourite, and I have grown up using this. Fuller’s Earth clay also known as Multani Mitti, has been known for its minerals in the clay and the numerous benefits; such as absorbing excess oil from the face, reducing scarring, improving skin complexion and treating acne.

To make this mask, take approximately 1 tablespoon of the clay, you can add sandalwood or turmeric to the clay this is entirely optional. And then add either Rose Water or just plain water to the clay and mix to get a nice paste. Apply the paste to dry cleansed face and wait for 15-20 minutes until the mask has dried. And then using warm water take off the mask, (I usually use a muslin cloth to take off the mask).

 

Mask Numero Two – Yogurt, Tumeric and Sandalwood facemask (aspirin optional)

This second mask is a saviour to my skin and my little friends who like to pop out just days before occasions. The yogurt in the mask contains lactic acid, which helps to exfoliate/dissolve dead skin cells giving you that FRESH and GLOWING skin. The vitamins in the yogurt also help to reduce inflammation, and help to prevent acne/pimples. Turmeric also helps to reduce the occurrence of acne and reduce scarring. The antibacterial properties in the raw powder helps fight away those nasty bacteria’s that cause us to break out. It also helps to even out skin tone for those like me who have scarring.

To make this mask, you will need 1-tablespoon plain unflavoured yogurt, 1 teaspoon of turmeric powder and 2 teaspoon of sandalwood powder. This should form a nice paste, if you find the paste is too thick then you can either add water or more yogurt.

Now another great ingredient to this mask is aspirin. Yes I mean, aspirin tablets. I know you probably thinking that I have gone crazy to apply some painkiller to a facemask. But hear me out. Aspirin contains salicylic acid (yes, let the penny drop. I have spoken about this in a previous post). Salicylic acid is an anti-inflammatory, so it helps to reduce the redness and also helps to unclog pores. If you did want to add aspirin in, then what you can do is crush up 2-4 tablets of aspirin and mix it in with the mask.

Leave the mask for around 20 minutes, but I wouldn’t say longer than 30 minutes. And then wash off with warm water.

 

Mask Numero Three – Honey facemask (turmeric and sugar optional)

Now this is the most basic and simple mask you will come across. I’m not kidding you. All you have to do is slap on my honey and relaaaax. Honestly, I used to do this mask so often at university, as I really didn’t have to faff about and use different ingredients or mixing bowls. I just used my hands to put honey on my face.

Honey is a multi-purpose mask, it moisturises your skin, is a gentle exfoliator, anti-inflammatory, cleanser, antibacterial and reduces scarring. It’s great and you know what’s even more amazing, the fact that its natural and you know it doesn’t have anything mixed in it (well I hope not).

Sometimes I will add in sugar to the honey to give me that extra exfoliating feel, or add turmeric powder to kill off any pimples that are thinking of arriving.

 

But there you go ladies and gentlemen, these are my three DIY facemasks. Word of warning those, please test each mask before you apply it all over your face as you may be allergic to certain ingredients or it may be too harsh for your skin. Anddd, the big AND. Be careful on how much turmeric powder you put in the mask as it can stain your hands and skin, so you wouldn’t want to be walking around like a Simpson.

If you have any questions about any of the products or should I say ingredients that I have used, then please feel free to comment on the blog or send in an email. I hope these face masks help you and do let me know how you get on with them.

 

See you next week lovelies

Pri XO

 

Quote of the week: “Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring” – Marilyn Manroe

 

Please follow us on social media – you can find the links on our home page. Also, like, comment or follow/subscribe to get more crazy posts such as this every Tuesday and Thursday. Leave a comment below or on our social media with what topic or beauty tip you want to hear about and I promise, I will make your wishes come true!

 

Leave a Reply

